Log in

Jagler; Behnke Win Special Legislative Elections

April 21, 2021 9:12 AM | WiAHC Office (Administrator)

The April 6 spring election had two special legislative races on the ballot to fill vacancies in Wisconsin’s 13th Senate District and 89th Assembly District.

Current State Representative John Jagler (R-Watertown) won his bid for the 13th Senate District seat to replace former Senator Scott Fitzgerald who was elected to Congress last fall. Jagler captured 51 percent of the vote, while his Democrat challenger, Melissa Winker received 44% of the vote.

Once Jagler is sworn into office in his new role as state senator, Republicans will hold a 21-12 majority in the Senate.

In the 89th Assembly District special election, Republican Elijah Behnke easily defeated Democrat Karl Jaeger, capturing 63 percent of the vote. Behnke will fill the seat vacated by Republican John Nygren, who resigned from office in December 2020.  

With Behnke’s victory, Republicans will hold a 61-38 seat majority in the Assembly.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software