Log in

Legislative Primary Roundup

September 01, 2020 11:33 AM | WiAHC Office (Administrator)

On August 11, Wisconsin held its partisan primaries for state legislative offices. These elections determined which two major party candidates will square off against each other in November. 

While most sitting legislators were either unchallenged or were expected to handily win their primaries, political spectators had their eyes on the following races: 

·  60th Assembly District GOP Primary - Ozaukee County: Rep. Brooks v Chris Reimer

·  82nd Assembly District GOP Primary - Franklin: Rep. Skowronski  v Theodore Kafkas

·  90th Assembly District Dem Primary - Green Bay: Rep. Staush Gruszynski v Kristina Shelton

·  6th Senate District Dem Primary - Milwaukee: Sen. LaTonya Johnson v Michelle Bryant

·  10th Senate District GOP Primary - Northwest Wisconsin: Rep. Stafsholt v Cherie Link

After votes were totaled, the only incumbent to lose was Democrat Representative Staush Gruszynski, who faced a tough reelection bid following sexual harassment allegations from a legislative staffer earlier this year.

Also of note, State Senator and Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald won the Republican Primary in the 5th Congressional District. Fitzgerald is seeking to replace longtime Congressman Jim Sensenbrenner, who is not seeking reelection. Fitzgerald's primary victory essentially guarantees his seat in Congress as the 5th District is overwhelmingly conservative. With Fitzgerald officially leaving the Senate, the Republican caucus are in search of a new Majority Leader, the most powerful position in the State Senate.

The state is now set for the November 3 general election. All 99 Assembly seats are up for election as well as 16 of the 33 Senate seats. For complete primary results, please see here.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software